The next time you look at the people widget, you might see up to 3 photos from recent emails from that person. Not only does this remind you of photos they’ve sent to you, but it also gives you one click access to the emails with those photos.
Most of us, would want to NOT show the photos on the Gmail email window. Here’s how you can disable your photos from being showing in Gmail.
From our research on the Google groups, the only possible option is to disable the people widget altogether..
To turn it off goto Gmail Settings > General > Hide people widget.